Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Falling in Love Without Falling in Bed by Margaret Daley

The Five Love Languages
from Gary Chapman

When two people are in a relationship, it is important for each one of them to demonstrate in some way the importance of the other in his/her life.  The problem often arises in a relationship when these two people don’t speak the same love language. They don’t speak to the other’s deepest emotional need (a need that has been shaped by their childhood). We want to be loved by the other and valued as worth loving by that person.  So how you express your love is important in a relationship.  You may be saying,  “I love you,”  to your significant other, but he isn’t hearing it because he doesn’t speak your language.

These are the five love language:
1)  Words of Affirmation-Some people need to hear the words from their loved one to believe they are loved.  They need verbal compliments and praises.

2)  Receiving Gifts-To others the receiving of a gift from their loved one tells them they are loved by that person.  The gifts don’t necessary have to be expensive.  The thought behind the gift is what is most important.  It tells the person he was thinking about her. In a time of turmoil the gift of your presence can be what is valued the most.

3)  Acts of Service-There are some who need love expressed through doing something for them.  It could be something like doing the dishes or taking out the trash.  It is important that the act of service is given freely, not demanded.

4)  Quality Time-Another love language is spending quality time with your loved one.  I don’t just mean being with him.  I mean really talking and listening to him.  You must be totally focused on him to the exclusion of everything else.  Within this are also quality activities.  When doing things together, one should want to do the activity and the other has agreed.  You are showing your love by doing the activity together.

5)  Physical Touch-A touch on his arm as you walk by, holding hands on a couch, or a back rub when he is tense can be to some an expression of love.  There are many levels of physical touch and not all have to be intimate to show you love someone.

Which love language do you speak? What do you respond to most?

Bonus: Dangerous Pursuit is on sale for 99 cents to May 11th.
Buy links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple and Kobo.

Margaret Daley, an award-winning author of over ninety books (five million in print worldwide), has been married for over forty years and is a firm believer in romance and love. When she isn’t traveling, she’s writing love stories, often with a suspense thread and corralling her three cats that think they rule her household. To find out more about Margaret visit her website at


  1. I love this guide. I think I'm a combination of physical touch and words of affirmation. I know when I worked with the elderly, those were the things they felt were lacking most in their lives if they were alone. Great post!

  2. I'm an acts of service and physical touch gal.

  3. This is interesting cos I'm finding it hard to narrow it down to one or two. I do know I would feel smothered to death to be told verbally all the time (and very suspicious..!)

  4. My love language is acts of service. So my dh does little things for me like opening doors... very retro!

  5. I love this Margaret. So many people think the only way to express love is thru sex when that is only a tiny aspect. It is important for our younger generation to understand this. Thank you for sharing.

  6. What an interesting blog post. I found it difficult to narrow down how I am, but acts of service, physical touch and quality time together are mine, I think. I don't need words of affirmation or gifts. Although I do like the odd bunch of flowers! My husbands are the same, I think.